Main programme of the Jazzkaar 2020 is out!


11.02.2020 15:13

Dee Dee Bridgewater

The biggest jazz festival in the Baltics, Jazzkaar has announced this year’s main programme. From 17 until 26 April, the festival will welcome to the stage winners and nominees of Grammy Awards, the special project “Antarctica 200” and popular groups from Estonia.


The main programme of this year’s Jazzkaar includes a total of 40 groups from 18 countries. The 10-day music celebration will be expanding borders in many ways. While Jazzkaar has always offered a wide selection of music genres and actively promoted jazz music among the general public, the 2020 festival will present a one-time only special project, “Antarctica 200,” which literally crosses geographical borders in featuring audio material recorded in the polar desert. Also, this year’s festival programme includes more groups led by women that ever before – 16 out of 40.

For those who love music for the soul, the programme offers numerous international vocal stars. In addition to previously announced big names such as Dee Dee Bridgewater, Cécile McLorin Salvant, Cyrille Aimée, Flora Purim and Airto Moreira and others, this year’s festival line-up has been complemented with well-known artists such as the world’s most famous Indian musician, percussionist Trilok Gurtu, the American drummer, jazz vocalist and a Grammy nominee Jamison Ross, and the American soul singer and songwriter Avery*Sunshine. More minimalistic and electronic sounds will be brought to the festival by atmospheric music of the German pianist Niklas Paschburg, ambient sound of the Icelandic duo, Hugar and many other outstanding groups.

FULL JAZZKAAR 2020 programme HERE
JAZZKAAR 2020 tickets available HERE

Translate »